Be Prepared

Standard

Please use this study guide by reading one scripture for 14 days… and praying a prayer after each study time.

2nd Peter 3:10

But the day of the Lord will come as a thief in the night, in which the heavens will pass away with a great noise, and the elements will melt with fervent heat; both the earth and the works that are in it will be burned up.

Prayer: Lord, on that promised day that you will come and get your beloved, I pray that you are not a thief in the night to me.  I pray that i have been the gate keeper to my family, the mother, the father, the wife, the husband, the son, the daughter.. etc.. that you have created me to be.  Lord, i also pray that i have been the disciple that you called me to be.  Each person I have come in contact with that i am and will be your hands and feet and the light in there possibly dark world.  The hug the smile the word the food etc.. when they needed it most.  Lord and I want to thank you for your word to read and study, your faithfulness and truthfulness.  Lord, I give you permission to prepare my heart, mind and soul for the journey that leads me to that glorious day where you come quickly.  In jesus name, amen.

Matthew 25: 1-13

1. The kindom of Heaven shall be likened to ten virgins who took their lamp out to meet the bridegroom.  2.  Now five of them were wise and five were foolish.  3.  Those who were foolish took their lamps and took no oil with them.  4.  but the wise took oil with their lamps  5.  But while the bridegroom was delayed, they all slumbered and slept 6.  And at midnight a cry was heard: “Behold, the bridegroom is coming: go out to meet him! 7.  Then all those virgins arose and trimmed their lamps.  8:  And the foolish said to the wise, Give us some of your oil, for our lamps are going out” 9:  But the wise answered, Saying”NO lest there should be enough for us and you;  but go rather to those who sell, and but for yourselves”  10.  And while they went to buy, the bride groom came, and those who were ready went with him to the wedding; and the door was shut.  11.  Afterward the other virgins came also, saying “LORD LORD open to us!! 12.  but he answered and said, “ASSUREDLY, I SAY TO YOU, I DO NOT KNOW YOU.  13.  “Watch therefore you know neither the day nor the hour in which the Son of Man is coming.”

 

Study Guide:

Jesus gives us guidelines to observe as we await his second coming they are to be prepared, be active in God’s work and to be concerned for the needy.

Virgins= followers of  Jesus      bridegroom=Jesus     oil=spiritual preparedness    wise=because they were prepared

foolish= because they were not prepared

sleeping sometimes symbolizes unreadiness (read romans12:11 & 1Thes 5:6)  / The point; however is not to be awake but be prepared.  Altough everyone slept, only the wise had the  necessary oil when they needed it.

It was not selfishness to say to the foolish go get your own.. rather it illustrates the truth that spiritual preparedness cannot be shared.  Each must be prepared for himself or herself.

When Christ returns it will be too late to prepare.

GOD’S JUDGEMENT IS FINAL!

prayer for matt 25: 1-13

Please, O God let my lamp be full of oil and that I have been wise and not foolish.  That my works and fruit have only been storing up the oil and not possessions here on earth.  And when you shut that door that I am on the same side as you, this is my prayer.  That I am not one of the ones shouting open up to us Lord.  I don not want you to have to say to me I DO NOT KNOW YOU. !  You will call me by name when me meet face to face.  I want my heart to be right with you and my feet to follow you all the days of my life.  And Lord as I slumber sometimes as life throws hardship and storms that I may be reminded of your love, grace and promises to be woke up by and remain faithful to you all the days of my life.  Thank you for the promise of your 2nd coming and i look forward to our date of the bride groom wedding! In jesus name.. amen

 

Leave a Reply

