FORGIVENESS

Standard

Forgiveness!! Pretty ugly word sometimes, huh? The act of forgiveness caused me suffering, tears, heartache & pain for a season.  But after the initial “culture” shock it started to  feel good.  It felt so good to let God have the suffering, tears and heartache.  It was like I switched from suffering from what I was going through to suffering from God!  That made it worth every tear and every ounce of heartache.  I heard Tony Evans say “Move over and let God knock him down. ”  I heard that and was like oh.. if i don’t worry about it anymore and let God deal with it that’s less stress for me.. Sounds easy, huh?  Well keeping my mouth shut when i felt the spirit leading me to was NOT so easy.. I would slip every now and then and say my two cents, only to have God deal with me about my actions.  It would get easier and easier and easier to keep quiet and let God issue his consequences for the things coming against me.  So many times we feel we have to protect ourselves.  We have to stand up for us, at that moment or we are wimps or not respected.  But on the flip side of that.  It’s when we stay quiet and let God stand up for us it is SO much more affective!!   God has a much better way of the revenge we so despretly seek.  If you have forgiven someone or are slowly working towards forgiving someone, or if your heart is hardened and forgiveness seems far away then this is for you!  We have to keep ourselves right in God’s eyes and what the other person(s) are doing is between them and God.  This is my two cents on the whole forgiveness thing.  Once i changed my thinking of suffering from the wrong against me to suffering for the God who loves me it was so easy to do the right thing according to the bible.  Let me break that down.  Instead of suffering because of the situation, i chose to suffer humility and letting go of pride and treating the other (s) involved with love and forgiveness.  I hope that makes a little more sense.

I will leave you with these scriptures that i used to keep my mind focused!

Passage 1 Peter 4:19:

19Wherefore let them that suffer according to the will of God commit the keeping of their souls to him in well doing, as unto a faithful Creator.

Passage Philippians 4:8:
8Finally, brethren, whatsoever things are true, whatsoever things are honest, whatsoever things are just, whatsoever things are pure, whatsoever things are lovely, whatsoever things are of good report; if there be any virtue, and if there be any praise, think on these things.

Passage John 8:32:
32And ye shall know the truth, and the truth shall make you free.

Passage Romans 8:37:
37Nay, in all these things we are more than conquerors through him that loved us.

Passage Romans 12:17:
17Repay no one evil for evil, but take thought for what is honest and proper and noble [aiming to be above reproach] in the sight of everyone.(A)

Passage Deuteronomy 31:6:
6Be strong, courageous, and firm; fear not nor be in terror before them, for it is the Lord your God Who goes with you; He will not fail you or forsake you.

One response »

  1. What a Word from God! These words were given to me at the best moment in time….What an on time God we serve.

Leave a Reply

