Day 6 Today I Will….. Be Careful Of What I Say!

Standard

 

 

 

Scripture clearly defines the power of our words: “Reckless words pierce like a sword” (Proverbs 12:18), and “The tongue has the power of life and death” (Proverbs 18:21).  If we’re honest, many of us will admit to being irritated by our spouse at times. Our fast-paced, stress-filled lives too easily feed our impatience — causing us to react, rather than respond, to one another.  This was one of my major issues I had to learn to control.  By far the hardest also!  It was before the earlier scripture came to life in me.. and I truly realized the truth in the scripture.. We literally have the power to lift up or kill something or someone with our words.  There were times I just spoke what I thought or felt without even caring how it could hurt whom I was talking to.  I have actually gotten really good at thinking before I speak in the last year or so.. My daughters are so used to me always having something to say that now when i pause and think about my words they are like mom… talk to me.. mom.. say something.. That is my time to play the sceneriaos in my head of all the things I want to say.. And sometimes I choose to say nothing.. leaving it to God to take care of.  Is that difficult.. YES it is!!! esp for me it was.. i would literally have to bite my tongue.. I can’t emphasize how much reading and knowing scripture helps you in life.  Allow it to come to life inside you, grow and be a light to others.

This picture says a thousand words.. whether it be a child, a spouse or a co worker… say it with me. .Today I will be careful of what I say!!
Here are some links that give you some insight on Being Careful of your words and the power in the tongue..

http://www.thrivingfamily.com/Family/Faith/2011/couples-weigh-your-words.aspx

http://www.keepbelieving.com/sermon/1994-10-09-The-Tongue-Life-and-Death-Are-In-Your-Mouth!/

Leave a Reply

