There’s A Hole In My Sidewalk

Standard

I heard this about 7 years ago and it has stuck with me since.  If you think about it your not likely to step in an actual hole that many times.  When I read this I picture the hole as anger, addiction, choice of language or movies, lying, cheating, stealing, anything that holds us in bondage.  At some point you should see the hole and avoid it.  I personally had LOTS of holes in my lifetime and still have some but it is so much easier to see and avoid them.  Sometimes I am able to just put one foot in and catch myself before falling totally into it.  I hope this helps you think about your holes before you step into them.

Autobiography in Five Short Chapters

 

Chapter 1

 

 

I walk down the street.
There is a deep hole in the sidewalk.
I fall in.
I am lost … I am helpless.
It isn’t my fault.
It takes forever to find a way out.

 

 

Chapter 2

 

 

I walk down the same street.
There is a deep hole in the sidewalk.
I pretend I don’t see it.
I fall in again.
I can’t believe I am in the same place.
But it isn’t my fault.
It still takes a long time to get out.

 

 

Chapter 3

 

 

I walk down the same street.
There is a deep hole in the sidewalk.
I see it is there.
I still fall in … it’s a habit.
My eyes are open.
I know where I am.
It is my fault.
I get out immediately.

 

 

Chapter 4

 

 

I walk down the same street.
There is a deep hole in the sidewalk.
I walk around it.

 

 

Chapter 5

 

 

I walk down another street.

 

 


~ Portia Nelson ~

 

 

(There’s a Hole in My Sidewalk)

 

One response »

Leave a Reply

