The Power of a Mothers Prayer (From listeners)

Standard

 

I shared the video with a few friends (18) to be exact!!! And these are a the only two responses I got!! I shared it only once and left it very much an ‘option’…not an obligation just out of curiosity to see how many would ‘jump’ on the opportunity to learn more about how we as moms should pray for our children. These are 18 of my ‘closest gal pals’! The ones I host and attend every kind of catalog party imaginable …..my SS girls…my homies….my boos…. You get me? If I had sent them a message about shopping, a movie, getting our nails done, coffee, cooking, or heaven forbid…going out to EAT….they’d have been all over it!! These girls would drop and run if I needed them, they love me..they love the Lord, and they even love their own children!!! But..this was eye opening!! Holier than though….?? Me?? Absolutely NOT! I too would have brushed this off at one time, but God has taught me the power of praying for my children by healing and by protecting their very lives in times of unknown danger.

As parents, most of us naturally cry out to God when our children are hurting or in danger, but few realize the power of praying blessings upon our children daily!

 

 

My thoughts:

 

Fern Nichols is a passionate Christian mother. She knows the importance of prayer, but she also knew the importance of Matt 18:20! It takes a village …and when it comes to praying for our children, none of us are as strong as all of us!  I have a certain friend I meet with to pray over our children, and since her child is older than mine, married and a mom herself I am learning how to shape my prayers for my high school and college aged children as they transition into young adults, prepare for marriage and families of their own. What an honor it is that my friend would trust me with the responsibility of praying for her child and grandchild. What a privilege it is for me to do so. What a blessing it is to see those prayers answered.

I was particularly moved by the story of the mom who prayed faithfully for her son for 20 years and realized upon his death that her own prayers had prepared her for that loss. It is profound to me that my prayers for my son for the 5 years he was alive paved the way for my own healing and security after his death. I think it’s true -and remarkable- that when we pray for our children from birth throughout their lives, those same prayers shape the way we grow in motherhood.

My friend Stacie shared this after viewing the video: Oh WOW! How ashamed I feel for not already praying for my boys future in school and the kids they will grow up with but I praise God for the mothers that have started this group for me to hear and start praying as well God always put the right people in our lives when we need it the most! I’m reminded of the scripture that I feel we all take forgranted: Matt 18:19-20 Matthew 18:19-20 (KJV)

19Again I say unto you, That if two of you shall agree on earth as touching any thing that they shall ask, it shall be done for them of my Father which is in heaven. 20For where two or three are gathered together in my name, there am I in the midst of them.

 

My friend Rebekah shared this:  The “mat carrier” really stuck with me. Really loved that. I’m not wise in the least! but when I gave some thought to praying over our ur children, it reminded me of God’s seed time and harvest. Prov. 18:21 “The tongue has the power of life and death, and those who love it will eat its fruit.”

Our words are seeds that WILL grow whether we think about them ever again or not, or whether they are negative or positive. They will still grow and produce fruit (negative for negative, positive for positive). Praying life, wisdom, strength, godliness, etc. on behalf of our children is Harvest-time.

 

(She sounds pretty wise to me!! ….I thought this was amazing insight and was blessed by Rebekah’s response!)

 

 

Hope some of this helps…I have LOTS more babbling if you need more to go on…Just trying to keep it minimal 🙂

Leave a Reply

